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Objective: Improve Operations of the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home

Submit Applicable Past Due Debts to the State Controller for Collections ................. page 2

As of July 1, 2024, over $1 million was more than 90 days past due to the Nevada Department of
Veterans Services (NDVS) from Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) residents,
none of which had been submitted to the State Controller. The majority of past due balances are
the responsibility of residents that never pursued Medicaid coverage, while the remaining
balances are the responsibility of residents that were either approved for Medicaid but denied
retroactive coverage or were denied Medicaid coverage altogether.

Statute designates the State Controller as the state’s collection agent and mandates that state
agencies submit their past due debts to the State Controller once those debts are 60 days past
due. Submitting past due debts will allow the State Controller to begin collection efforts, improve
financial reporting, and bring NDVS in compliance with statutes.

Pursue an Updated MOU with the State Controller's Office..................cccooiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnn. page 7

NDVS faces certain challenges with accounts receivable and the accumulation of resident debt
that are inherent to operating a state veterans home. Among these challenges are the fact
residents do not become eligible for Medicaid coverage until they have resided in the home for
30 consecutive days. The process to apply and qualify for Medicaid can sometimes take a year
or more to finalize, during which time the residents accumulate a balance.

NDVS has an MOU with the State Controller's Office that provides an exemption to the 60-day
requirement for collections for balances associated with a pending Medicaid application. The
MOU lacks detailed instructions, such as a reasonable time frame for submitting past due Private
Pay debt or a mandate for NDVS to designate the balances of residents denied Medicaid
coverage as Private Pay. Clarifying this information by revising debt submission guidelines in an
updated MOU would help NDVS better understand its responsibilities in the debt collection
process and provide NDVS with guidance to better manage its accounts receivable.

Record Accounts Receivable in Accordance with GAAP ..................ccccoeeiiiiiiiinnnen, page 13

Recording South Home accounts receivable (AR) in accordance with governmental generally
accepted accounting principles (GAAP) will comply with statute and ensure AR balances are
accurately recorded. Prepayments received from residents and refunds due to residents are being
recorded as credits to AR, which is an incorrect accounting method. GAAP considers these
transactions to be liability account transactions. Crediting AR results in an inaccurate reflection of
financial assets due to the home.

The fiscal year-end AR balances from state agencies are compiled into the statewide AR balance;
therefore, the inaccurate South Home AR balance leads to an inaccurate statewide AR balance.



Statute requires GAAP to be followed throughout the accounting process, at both the agency level
and the state level. Implementing a process to record prepayments to either a liability account or
to the residents’ individual trust fund accounts, while promptly correcting any refunds credited to
AR by the system, would ensure compliance with statutory requirements and improve the
reliability of financial reports.

Revise the Admission Application to Include Medicaid Information.......................... page 15

The South Home application for admission does not mention Medicaid, and Admissions
Coordinators are only expected to verbally discuss Medicaid eligibility and coverage when it is
highly likely the applicant will need coverage following admission screening procedures.
Approximately $228,000 of past due debt is owed by residents denied Medicaid coverage, which
is usually the result of discovering a disallowed transfer of assets in the past five years. Including
Medicaid information in the admission application will increase transparency with South Home
applicants by providing a better opportunity to disclose important Medicaid eligibility information.
Addressing Medicaid as part of the admission process would prevent issues arising long after a
resident’s admission, which are generally a byproduct of the stringent eligibility requirements for
Medicaid coverage.

Submit Medicaid Application at Start of Admission Process and Train Staff on Updated
AdMISSION PrOCESSES.......ooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiee e page 24

Medicaid applications are currently submitted 30 days or later from a resident’s move-in date, due
to the requirement that residents be institutionalized for 30 consecutive days to qualify. Late
submission is unavoidable in some cases, such as when a resident requires care for much longer
than anticipated. Otherwise, applications can be processed early if the applicant’s physician
states the applicant is likely to be in the institution at least 30 consecutive days. Obtaining this
information from the applicant’s physician will allow the South Home to be proactive in preparing
Medicaid applications. Submitting Medicaid applications at the start of the admission process and
training staff on updated procedures will ensure Medicaid-related issues are addressed in a timely
manner, improving both transparency and financial outcomes for residents and NDVS, and will
expedite Medicaid appeals and limit accumulated debt.

Seek a BDR to Join the Nurse Licensure Compact....................ccccoviiiiieiiiieee, page 28

The South Home has experienced high staff attrition since the COVID-19 pandemic. Recent
research concluded the state needs an additional 4,000 nurses to meet the national population-
to-RN ratio, while also asserting 67% of the state’s population reside in primary medical care
health professional shortage areas. Joining the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) will enhance
Nevada’s disaster preparedness and increase access to healthcare by increasing the pool of
medical providers permitted to provide care within the state. Membership in the NLC will make
Nevada competitive with other states, as Nevada is one of only four states that have not joined
the compact or have pending legislation to do so.

Increasing the pool of healthcare providers would support recent state legislation. Assembly Bill
292, enacted during the 2015 Legislative session, declared it is the public policy of the state to
encourage and facilitate the provision of services through telehealth to improve public health and
the quality of healthcare provided to patients. Senate Bill 375, enacted in 2023, appropriated $10
million per fiscal year in 2024 and 2025 to the Nevada System of Higher Education to expand
undergraduate and graduate nursing programs.



Unlike NLC member states, Nevada had to await an emergency directive to employ nurses from
out of state during the COVID-19 pandemic, which took approximately three weeks from the initial
declaration of a nationwide emergency. The directive allowed providers to practice without being
vetted or receiving board approval, potentially enabling providers with a revoked license in
another state to practice undetected in Nevada. In contrast, Nurses with an NLC license have
been subject to stringent uniform requirements of the compact that include a fingerprint criminal
background check. The compact also facilitates the exchange of information in the areas of nurse
regulation, investigation, and adverse actions between member states.

In 2015, the Nevada Legislature adopted legislation to join the Interstate Medical Licensure
Compact (IMLC), making Nevada one of the first member states when the IMLC became
operational in 2017. The IMLC applies to medical doctors, but not to nurses. Like the NLC, the
IMLC was implemented to reduce regulatory burdens to practicing medicine across state lines
and increase mobility of licensed physicians. Data shows that IMLC licenses accounted for over
half of the physician licenses issued in the state, suggesting a preference for multi-state licensure
versus single-state licensure.

Nurses who travel for work are able to earn a much higher salary, increasing the appeal of a multi-
state license. Nevada is at a disadvantage by offering only a single-state nursing license. As a
direct stakeholder, NDVS has a vested interest in making efforts to modernize and advance the
healthcare profession in Nevada.
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APPENAIX B ... e ——— page 40
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INTRODUCTION

At the direction of the Executive Branch Audit Committee, the Division of Internal
Audits (DIA) conducted an audit of the Nevada Department of Veterans Services
(NDVS). The audit focused on the operations of the Southern Nevada State
Veterans Home. The audit scope and methodology, background, and
acknowledgments are included in Appendix A.

DIA’s audit objective was to develop recommendations to:

v Improve Operations of the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home.

Nevada Department of Veterans Services
Response and Implementation Plan

DIA provided draft copies of this report to NDVS for review and comment. DIA
considered NDVS’ comments in the preparation of this report; NDVS’ response is
included in Appendix B. In its response, NDVS accepted the recommendations.
Appendix C includes a timetable to implement the recommendations.

NRS 353A.090 requires within six months after the final report is issued to the
Executive Branch Audit Committee, the Administrator of the Division of Internal
Audits shall evaluate the steps NDVS has taken to implement the recommendations
and shall determine whether the steps are achieving the desired results. The
Administrator shall report the six-month follow-up results to the committee and
NDVS.

The following report (DIA Report No. 25-02) contains DIA’s findings, conclusions,
and recommendations.
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Improve Operations of the Southern Nevada
State Veterans Home

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) can improve operations of
the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) by:

Submitting applicable past due debts to the State Controller for collections;
Pursuing an updated MOU with the State Controller's Office;

Recording accounts receivable in accordance with GAAP;

Revising the admission application to include Medicaid information;
Submitting the Medicaid application at the start of the admission process and
training staff on the updated admission processes; and

e Seeking a BDR to join the Nurse Licensure Compact.

Improving operations of the South Home will enhance financial management
through timely debt collections, ensure adherence to GAAP for accurate financial
reporting, and proactively address staffing challenges by expanding access to the
labor market of qualified nurses.

Submit Applicable Past Due Debts to the State Controller for
Collections

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should submit applicable
past due debts to the State Controller. Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) designate
the State Controller as the state’s collection agent and mandate that state agencies
submit their past due debts to the State Controller.! Submitting past due debts will
allow the State Controller to begin collection efforts on past due accounts
receivable, improve financial reporting, and bring NDVS in compliance with
statutory requirements. Additionally, submitting the debts for collections will allow
NDVS to write off uncollectable accounts receivable that should no longer be
recognized.

Over $1 Million in Past Due Accounts Receivable

At the close of fiscal year 2024, over $1 million in Private Pay balances owed to
NDVS from Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) residents was
90 or more days past due. Private Pay balances are those not covered by the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or another third-party payor and are the
responsibility of the resident. Approximately $983,000 of the past due balance had
been outstanding for more than 209 days, with some individuals’ debt outstanding
for more than six years. Exhibit | shows the past due debt by periods outstanding
and origin of the debt.

" NRS 353C.195(1) and (2).
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Exhibit |
Past Due Debt

Origination Past Due 90 to 209 Days |210 Days or More Past Due| Total 90 Days or More
Private Pay from Day One| $ 2235290 | $ 631,728.89 | § 654,081.79
Medicaid Denied| $ 2,157.94 | $ 22573245 | % 227,890.39
Preceding Medicaid Approval| $ 10561 | $ 125,630.07 | $ 125,735.68
Gross Total Past Due| $ 24,616.45 | $ 983,09141 1% 1,007,707.86

Source: DIA analysis of NDVS accounts receivable balances.

The Private Pay from Day One balances are owed by residents that never pursued
or obtained Medicaid coverage. The Medicaid Denied balances are due from
residents that were denied Medicaid coverage after incurring the costs associated
with residing in the home. The Preceding Medicaid Approval balances are due from
residents that were approved for Medicaid moving forward, but not for retroactive
coverage.

Several Payors Cover South Home Charges

The South Home accepts payment from several payor sources. The foremost of
those sources is the VA. The VA covers the entire cost of care, including room and
board plus medical expenses, for eligible veterans that have been diagnosed with
a service-connected disability rated 70% or higher.? The VA pays a daily basic per
diem for all other veterans eligible to reside in the South Home, which is the lesser
of the posted rate or half the cost of care. For those residents not receiving full
coverage from the VA, the South Home accepts insurance, including Medicare,
Medicaid, and private insurance. Balances not covered by the VA or another third-
party payor are Private Pay balances.

Medicaid covers a resident’s room and board charges; however, this coverage is a
distinct type of Medicaid. Long-term care Medicaid, or Institutional Medicaid, is
separate from regular Medicaid and comes with much stricter eligibility
requirements. Any references to regular Medicaid in this report will use the term
‘regular Medicaid.” Long-term care Medicaid and Institutional Medicaid are referred
to as Medicaid throughout this report. Statute stipulates that individuals must be
institutionalized in a medical or nursing facility for no less than 30 days to qualify for
this type of Medicaid coverage.?

Strict income and asset limits must be met to qualify for Medicaid coverage.
Applicants are generally allowed to retain certain exempt personal property, such
as an automobile, furnishings, and a primary residence. Non-exempt assets, such
as cash, stocks, or a non-primary residence, will render the applicant ineligible
when the total value is above the state-imposed $2,000 asset limit.

2 Disability rating percentage represents how much the individual’s disabilities decrease their overall health and
ability to function.
3 NRS 422.272(1)(a).
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Medicaid Application Process Can
Take an Extended Period of Time

The application process for Medicaid can take an extended period of time for many
reasons. In particular, applications are not being submitted until the applicant has
resided in the home for 30 days at the earliest. The process can be extended further
by human error, appeals of denied applications, and requests for additional
information from the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Healthcare Financing and Policy (DHCFP). During the approval process, residents
are considered in “Medicaid Pending” status. Those residents are still charged the
costs of residing at the home while their application is pending, though payment to
the South Home is deferred until Medicaid is approved.

DHCFP imposes a 60-month “look-back” period, during which the agency
investigates whether the applicant gifted or transferred ownership of non-exempt
assets or sold assets for less than fair market value.* The applicant is deemed
ineligible for Medicaid coverage if any disallowed transfers of assets are found
during the previous 60 months. A Medicaid applicant ultimately denied coverage is
responsible for charges incurred.

State Controller Designated the State Collection Agent

In 2009, the Legislature passed Assembly Bill (AB) 87 to amend NRS 353C,
requiring state agencies to assign past due debts to the State Controller for
collections. Prior to amending the law, submission of past due debts was voluntary,
and state agencies were free to conduct their own collection efforts. Moreover,
agencies were allowed to submit past due debts to the State Controller at their
discretion. In 2009, the State Controller found this arrangement to be ineffective.

As part of a presentation given during the 2009 legislative session, the State
Controller asserted the probability of collections significantly decreases the longer
debt remains delinquent. The average age of debt being submitted for collection
was 486 days old, or 722 days when omitting the Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) from the average.® Collections probability data submitted with the State
Controller’'s presentation is shown in Exhibit II.

4 Selling assets, transferring ownership, or gifting assets is collectively referred to in this report as “transferring
assets” or “asset transfers.”

5 DMV debt was recognized as an outlier due to having a relatively high collection rate — a reflection of a debtor’s
need to obtain a license and register a car.
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Exhibit Il
Collections Probability Data
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Source: February 25, 2009, Assembly Committee on Government Affairs meeting minutes.

The argument that state agencies were not adequately conducting their own debt
collection efforts was successful and AB 87 was enacted to amend NRS 353C,
requiring state agencies turn over any debts that have been outstanding for 60 or
more days to the State Controller.

Statute Requires Agencies to
Assign Debts to State Controller

NRS 353C.195 requires state agencies coordinate all debt collection efforts through
the State Controller. Unless a different timeframe has been agreed upon, those
debts must be assigned for collection no later than 60 days after the debts become
past due. The State Controller must determine the agency has the resources to
engage in its own debt collection efforts or has shown good cause for the
requirement to be waived.

The Accounts Receivable Policies and Procedures manual issued by the State
Controller’s Office (SCO) directs agencies to prepare monthly billings for balances
owed to the agency. Once an outstanding balance becomes 30 days past due, the
agency must issue a first request for payment letter. At 60 days past due, the
agency must issue a final request for payment letter, then submit the delinquent
account to the State Controller for collection. Alternative arrangements can be
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made for agencies identifying a conflict between the collections policy and the
unique circumstances of their accounts receivable. Alternative arrangements are
documented in a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the SCO.

Past Due Debt Has Not Been Assigned to the State Controller

To date, NDVS has not assigned past due debt to the State Controller in
accordance with state law and the SCO’s Debt Collection Policies and Procedures.
The longer individual debts are outstanding, the lower the likelihood of collection
becomes. It is unlikely the State Controller will be able to collect on most debts
exceeding 210 days past due; however, there is no chance of collecting when no
action is taken. Submitting debt to the State Controller to begin collection efforts will
increase the likelihood of recovering some of the debt owed to NDVS.

Uncollectible Accounts Receivable Should Be Written-Off

As discussed later in this report, state agencies are required to record accounts
receivable in accordance with governmental Generally Accepted Accounting
Principles (GAAP). GAAP considers leaving uncollectable past due debts in
accounts receivable an overstatement of financial assets.

NDVS needs to write off debt balances deemed uncollectable in order to comply
with GAAP, but accounts receivable may not be written-off until approved by the
State Board of Examiners (BOE). Pursuant to statute, the State Controller may
request the BOE designate a debt as bad debt (i.e. an uncollectable account) after
the State Controller determines that it is impossible or impractical to collect.®
Assigning past due debts to the State Controller will initiate the process necessary
to write off uncollectable accounts receivable.

Conclusion

State agencies must submit past due debts to the State Controller for collection to
comply with state law and must write off the debt balances deemed uncollectable
to comply with GAAP. Over $1 million in Private Pay accounts receivable balances
have not been referred to the State Controller and remain uncollected. Submitting
these debts to the State Controller will comply with statutes, increase the likelihood
of collection, and ensure NDVS can begin the process of writing off uncollectible
accounts, thereby preventing overstatement of financial assets.

Recommendation

1. Submit applicable past due debts to the State Controller for collections.

8 NRS 353C.220(1).
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Pursue an Updated MOU with the State Controller's Office

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should pursue an updated
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for
the treatment of past due accounts receivable. An updated MOU can provide
detailed guidance to NDVS to navigate the unique circumstances involved in
managing its accounts receivable. The current MOU does not identify a reasonable
time frame for submitting past due Private Pay debt to the SCO nor does it instruct
NDVS to designate the balances of residents denied Medicaid coverage as Private
Pay. Clarifying this information by revising debt submission guidelines in the MOU
would help NDVS better understand its responsibilities in the debt collection
process.

NDVS Faces Challenges Managing Past Due Debt

NDVS faces challenges managing past due debt. There are many reasons for
individual accounts receivable balances remaining unpaid, including Medicaid
misunderstandings, combative family members, and residents refusing to pay
despite having the means to do so. Generally, past due accounts receivable
balances of the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) are a
byproduct of the complex environment in which the home operates.

The South Home is a skilled nursing facility providing residents with short- and long-
term nursing care, at least 75% of which are veterans of the United States armed
forces.” Residents need assistance with Activities of Daily Living, whether due to
age or medical condition. There are factors inherent to this model of operation that
present challenges when it comes to collecting amounts owed by residents. These
factors include:

e State veterans homes generally do not deny applicants based solely on
having no income or an otherwise inability to self-pay, due to the fact that
funds are anticipated from third-party payors. The U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs (VA) pays state veterans homes a prevailing rate per diem
for each veteran residing in the home with a service-connected disability
rated 70% or higher, intended to cover the full cost of providing care to those
veterans. A basic rate per diem is paid for all other eligible veterans residing
in the home to subsidize the cost of providing care. Applicants without
income are expected to qualify for the medical insurance necessary to cover
any balances due.

e Certain low-income applicants are expected to qualify for Medicaid to pay for
costs not covered by the VA; however, NRS stipulates those individuals are
not eligible for Medicaid until they have been admitted to the home for no
less than 30 days. Therefore, the South Home is assuming risk when
admitting an individual without the ability to self-pay. The resident begins

7 Non-veteran spouses and gold-star parents (the parents of children who passed away in service) may reside
at the South Home, up to 25% of its capacity.
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incurring charges immediately upon moving into the home, without
assurance Medicaid coverage will be approved.

o Federal regulations state that a resident cannot be discharged from a skilled
nursing facility for failure to pay when their Medicaid application is in
“‘pending” status, which extends to denied applications pending appeal. The
Medicaid approval process can take months — a period during which the
resident incurs charges that go unpaid. This creates a balance of past due
debt for residents ultimately denied Medicaid coverage. Similarly, a resident
may not become eligible until a date long after moving into the home,
creating a situation where Medicaid approves coverage going forward, but
will not cover charges incurred up to the eligibility date.

e Federal regulations state a skilled nursing facility cannot request or require
a third-party guarantee of payment as a condition of admission or continued
stay in a facility. Though many elderly and disabled veterans rely on family
members or other representatives to assist with completing the application
process, the South Home cannot expect or compel those third-party
individuals to guarantee payment, leaving any past due balances the sole
responsibility of the resident.

The process to apply and qualify for Medicaid can be lengthy, sometimes taking a
year or more to finalize. As such, the date the South Home ultimately receives
Medicaid payments can be past the 60-day deadline to commence collection efforts
imposed by statute. To address this issue, NDVS signed an MOU with the SCO in
December 2011, which exempts balances expected to be paid by Medicaid from
submission for collections.

The MOU stipulates residents will be billed as Private Pay residents while their
applications are pending. The Private Pay charges are reversed once the
applications are approved. The MOU does not, however, make clear that balances
of those denied Medicaid coverage should be treated as Private Pay balances for
purposes of collection efforts. Exhibit Ill shows the agreement terms in the MOU
between the SCO and NDVS.
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Exhibit Il
NDVS Collections MOU

Memorandum of Understanding

This document constitutes a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Nevada State
Controller’s Office and the Office of Veterans’ Services.

Scope

This MOU concerns compliance with NRS 353C.195, and establishes an agreement regarding
when debts will be turned over to the Controller’s Office for collection.

Agreement

1. For debts owed by Private Pay residents, the Office of Veterans' Services will turn over
past due debts to the Controller’s Office for collection when they are 70 days old.

2. For those residents who appear and will be deemed to be qualified for Medicaid or Clark
County assistance, a complete exemption is granted and these accounts are not
required to be turned over to the Controller’s Office for collection. While the
application for assistance is pending, the resident is billed at the private resident rate,
but these charges are reversed by a credit when the application is accepted. The
resident’s account is then charged at the Medicaid/Clark County rate and the
reimbursement is applied.

3. When accounts are turned over to the Controller’s Office for debt collection, the
accounts shall be removed from the agency’s books as accounts receivable. Those
accounts waiting for a Medicaid/Clark County determination should not be included in
the guarterly accounts receivable reports.

4. All accounts to be written off must be submitted to the Controller’s Office to be written
off. The Controller’s Office will then submit them to the Board of Examiners to be
written off.

Source: State Controller’s Office.

The MOU terms can be updated to clarify the process for submitting past due debts
to the SCO. NDVS should consider the following factors when updating the MOU:

e The MOU does not explicitly instruct NDVS to designate unpaid balances as
Private Pay once Medicaid coverage has been denied.

e Currently, Private Pay debt must be turned over to the SCO once it is 70 days
past due. Ten more days than the standard 60 days afforded to state
agencies by statute appears to be an arbitrary amount of time.

e The MOU does not identify when unpaid balances of residents denied
Medicaid should be submitted for collections. Specifically, it does not indicate
whether the past due debt should be submitted as soon as the Medicaid
application is denied, or whether the 70-day timeframe begins on the Private
Pay debt upon denial.
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e The MOU provides an exception for residents who appear and will be deemed
to be qualified for Medicaid, without explicitly requiring the application to be
actively pending. This distinction provides leeway to NDVS to delay debt
assignment without having submitted a Medicaid application, based on any
earlier determination the resident may qualify for coverage. A debt could be
outstanding for longer than 70 days before the Medicaid application is even
submitted.

e The MOU does not define a termination timeframe of the exception for
pending Medicaid applications. The exception is provided in perpetuity,
meaning past due balances can remain unpaid past a year due to the
Medicaid approval process. Federal regulations state a nursing home
resident may not be evicted as long as their Medicaid application is pending,
but these restrictions do not apply to collecting the debt. While there may not
be a specific requirement to start collecting on debt at a certain point in time,
NDVS should recognize debts become harder to collect the longer they
remain outstanding. Collaborating with the SCO on a plan of action when the
Medicaid approval process exceeds a reasonable timeframe would be in the
best interest of the state.

Distribution of Collected Funds Unaddressed in MOU

The MOU does not address the distribution of money collected by the State
Controller on past due debts. The South Home budget account does not receive
funding from the State General Fund, meaning the home operates exclusively from
other revenue sources. NDVS leadership expressed concerns with not receiving
the money collected by the State Controller on past due debts owed to NDVS.
However, NDVS can expect to receive any recovered funds, which aligns with the
direction outlined in statute. Exhibit IV shows the statute governing the distribution
of money collected by the State Controller.
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Exhibit IV
Statute Governing the Distribution of Money Collected

NRS 353C.224 Distribution of Money Collected from Debtor.

1. If the State Controller collects any money owed to an agency from

a debtor or receives any money from the employer of a debtor or a
private debt collector or other person to whom the State Controller
has assigned the collection of a debt owed to an agency, the State
Controller shall, unless prohibited by federal law, transfer the net
amount of money owed to the agency:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), to the Debt
Recovery Account created by NRS 353C.226 if the debt is owed to an
agency whose budget is supported exclusively or in part from the
State General Fund.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), to an account
specified by the agency if the debt is owed to an agency whose
budget is supported exclusively from sources other than the State
General Fund.

(c) If a specific statute requires the money to be deposited in a
specific account or used for a specific purpose, to the specific
account required by statute or to the account from which money is
expended for the purpose specified.

Source: Nevada State Legislature Law Library.

Acknowledging in the MOU that the South Home operates independently from the
General Fund may provide NDVS with a level of assurance that it will receive
recovered funds.

Submission to State Controller
Does Not Result in Eviction

Another concern expressed by NDVS leadership is a desire to avoid evicting
residents, which suppresses their urgency to confront past due debt. While facing
a need to evict a resident is a complex matter that warrants delicate handling, it
does not coincide with resolving past due debt. As indicated above, federal
regulations prohibit the eviction of a resident while their Medicaid application is
pending approval, but do not prevent collection efforts on past due debt while the
resident remains in the home.
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This distinction is particularly relevant when a resident becomes eligible for
Medicaid coverage long after being admitted to the South Home. There have been
instances in which a resident is approved for Medicaid coverage moving forward
but was denied retroactive coverage for balances accrued prior to the Medicaid
application date. NDVS has no incentive to take action against residents in this
situation because Medicaid payments have commenced. While the
commencement of Medicaid payments is a positive development, the past due
balance must still be addressed through collection efforts and writing off the
estimated uncollectible amounts. These factors would be best coordinated with the
SCO and addressed in a revised MOU.

Conclusion

Updating the MOU between NDVS and the SCO will significantly improve the
management of past due accounts receivable. This modification will establish clear
guidelines for when and how Private Pay debts, including those of residents denied
Medicaid coverage, should be submitted for collections, reducing ambiguity in
current processes. By ensuring debts are submitted promptly and consistently to
the SCO, NDVS can comply with state requirements and increase the likelihood of
recovering amounts owed.

Recommendation

2. Pursue an updated MOU with the State Controller's Office.
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Record Accounts Receivable in Accordance with GAAP

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should record Southern
Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) accounts receivable (receivables) in
accordance with governmental Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP).
Statute and the Accounts Receivable Policies and Procedures manual issued by
the State Controller's Office (SCO) directs agencies to record and report
receivables in accordance with GAAP.®2 Recording South Home receivables
according to GAAP will bring NDVS in compliance with statutory requirements,
while also reflecting an accurate South Home receivables balance.

NDVS Records Prepayments as Credits to Receivables

Residents’ prepayments for future charges and refunds due to residents are being
recorded as credits or a reduction to receivables, instead of deferred inflows or
liabilities as required by GAAP. These credit entries understate receivables and
liabilities at the agency level and flow into statewide financial statements.

Accounts Receivable Balances Misstated

The accounting system and processes at the South Home have not been
configured to properly address residents’ prepayments. To avoid system
complications, NDVS records these prepayments as credits to the resident’s
receivables balance, which is an incorrect method of accounting. Deferred inflows
are considered liabilities for the South Home because it is obligated to provide the
services for which the resident prepaid; whereas receivables are considered assets
because they represent funds due to the South Home. Recording credits to
receivables makes it appear the South Home is owed less than actually due.

Accounts Receivable Policies and Procedures Manual
Requires Agencies to Submit Receivables Reports to the SCO

The SCO’s Accounts Receivable Policies and Procedures manual instructs state
agencies to submit fiscal year-end receivables reports to the SCO, specifying the
information provided must be accurate and realistic. The year-end receivables
balances from each agency are compiled and reported as the total receivables
balance in the statewide Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR).
Because the South Home’s receivables balance is reported inaccurately in the
fiscal year-end reports, the compiled statewide receivables total is also inaccurate.

The monetary total of credits incorrectly recorded to South Home receivables is not
great enough to materially misstate the statewide financial statements. However,
the statewide receivables balance does not comply with GAAP and statutory
requirements. Statute requires state agencies to follow GAAP throughout the
accounting and reporting process to accurately present the state’s financial

8 NRS 353.3245(1).
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position. The current practice of recording prepayments as credits to receivables
does not comply with statute, SCO guidance, or GAAP.

NDVS Can Ensure Compliance
by Adjusting Receivables

NDVS administers trust fund banking for South Home residents using a single bank
account but maintains separate accounting for each individual resident. Federal
regulations allow payments to the home to be made from the trust fund, with the
resident’s authorization. To avoid issues created by recording residents’
prepayments as credits to receivables, prepayments could be recorded residents’
individual accounts, which could be used to pay bills when they come due.® This
method would comply with state and federal requirements and help avoid recording
incorrect accounting transactions.

Credits automatically recorded to receivables by the system for resident refunds
cannot be avoided and system modification is not cost-effective. NDVS should take
prompt action to adjust credit entries to receivables to ensure accuracy and
compliance with state and federal requirements. This can be done by either paying
the resident the refund due or recording an entry to move the credit to a liability
account.

Conclusion

To ensure compliance with statute, the SCO’s guidance, and GAAP, NDVS must
revise how the South Home records its receivables transactions. Currently, the
practice of recording residents' prepayments as credits to receivables results in an
inaccurate balance that does not reflect GAAP standards. By properly classifying
prepayments as deferred inflows, which is a liability, NDVS can avoid
misstatements in the South Home’s receivables balance. Additionally,
implementing a system to either refund or move credit balances to a liability account
would correct existing inaccuracies and improve the reliability of year-end financial
reports.

Recommendation

3. Record accounts receivable in accordance with GAAP.

9 The residents not participating would need to sign up for an account.
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Revise Admission Application to Include Medicaid Information

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should revise the Southern
Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) admission application to include
Medicaid information. Including Medicaid information in the admission packet will
increase transparency with applicants and ensure that Medicaid is addressed as
part of the admission process. Increasing transparency will provide applicants with
a better opportunity to disclose important information, ask relevant questions, and
initiate discussions to improve their understanding of Medicaid eligibility
requirements. An enhanced understanding of Medicaid eligibility requirements will
reduce the applicant’'s chances of being denied coverage and subsequently
burdened with debt.

Stringent Eligibility Requirements for Medicaid

Medicaid that covers long-term care in a skilled nursing facility is distinct from
regular Medicaid and has stringent eligibility requirements that are sometimes
difficult for applicants to understand. Some of the more stringent requirements
include:

e Recipients/applicants must only receive a limited amount of income.™ The
recipient’s/applicant’s income less authorized allowances must be paid to
the nursing facility.

e The recipient/applicant must own a limited value of total assets.’ Certain
exempt assets, such as a primary automobile or primary residence, do not
count against this limit. Non-exempt assets, such as a savings account or a
second residence, will render the recipient ineligible when the combined total
value is above the limit.

e Recipients/applicants are permitted to relinquish assets to meet the asset
limit, but only through authorized methods. For example, excess funds in a
savings account can be spent to modify a primary residence, but those funds
cannot be gifted to a family member. Gifting assets is a disallowed transfer
that would render the recipient ineligible.

e The Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Healthcare
Financing and Policy (DHCFP) enforces a 60-month “look-back” period for
disallowed asset transfers, meaning that any such transfers discovered
within the past 5 years would render the recipient/applicant ineligible.

e The resident’s care is not covered until they have been admitted to a facility
for at least 30 consecutive days.

10 DHCFP limits income to 300% of the federal benefit rate for Supplemental Security Income, which is currently
$943 per month. Income for Medicaid eligibility is therefore limited to $2,829 or less per month.
1 DHCFP enforces a $2,000 asset limit.

15 of 42



Navigating Medicaid eligibility requirements can be complicated and overwhelming
for applicants. Applications are the responsibility of the residents; however, NDVS
has a vested interest in helping residents apply for Medicaid coverage at the time
of admission.

Admission Process Lacks Transparency

The NDVS admission process lacks transparency over the Medicaid application
process. Medicaid is not addressed within the five-page application for admission
to the South Home. Ensuring applicants are aware of, and apply for, Medicaid
coverage will increase transparency in the admission process. NDVS relies on
Admissions Coordinators to make verbal disclosures regarding potential Medicaid
coverage only if it appears likely the resident will need coverage. This does not
typically occur until after the admission process is well underway.

No Mandate to
Address Medicaid

NDVS does not require Admissions Coordinators to ensure the applicant or their
representative is made aware of Medicaid coverage availability. The focus, from a
financial standpoint, is primarily placed on VA Per Diem and Medicare coverage.'?
If an applicant appears likely to require Medicaid coverage following the
preadmission screening procedures, Admissions Coordinators are expected to
verbally notify the applicant or their representative of Medicaid eligibility
requirements, which could easily be overlooked. Additionally, not making Medicaid
a required discussion results in Admissions Coordinators being the decision makers
for who may or may not need Medicaid information.

The failure to discuss Medicaid could be due to the perception that the applicant
will not likely need coverage, which could turn out to be inaccurate. For instance,
the length of stay at the home has run much longer than initially expected for some
residents, after which point the resident would need Medicaid. Some Admissions
Coordinators are not appropriately trained in the complex nature of eligibility
requirements for when Medicaid discussions do take place, leading to either
incomplete or inaccurate information being provided to the applicant.

Verbal Disclosures Insufficient to Ensure
Applicants Understand Medicaid Eligibility

Relying solely on verbal disclosures from Admissions Coordinators is an insufficient
method of ensuring South Home applicants understand Medicaid eligibility and its
relationship to their overall financial standing. Medicaid qualification criteria can be
difficult to understand for a number of reasons. Some South Home applicants that
qualify for, or are currently covered by, regular Medicaid may be unaware there is
a distinction between regular Medicaid coverage and long-term Medicaid coverage
in a skilled nursing facility. Other applicants may not understand what a “non-

12 Medicare covers short-term stays in a skilled nursing facility, up to a limited number of days.
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exempt asset” is in regard to asset limits, or what qualifies as an “asset.” Some
applicants may fail to understand that all of their income after allowances must be
paid to the home. NDVS reports that it regularly receives calls from confused
residents or their representatives complaining they were not made to understand
something or were not made aware of certain information related to Medicaid
coverage. NDVS can improve its role in reducing confusion by documenting a
Medicaid eligibility review as part of the admission process.

A Majority of States Address Medicaid on Admission Applications

A review of admission application packets for state veterans homes around the
country revealed an overwhelming majority of homes that are Medicaid-certified as
a nursing facility mention Medicaid.’®'* Simply mentioning “Medicaid” may not
ensure applicants disclose relevant details or provide certainty all necessary
Medicaid information is discussed and documented. However, including Medicaid
as a topic during admission will prompt further discussion on the subject. The
majority of states include Medicaid as a topic in their application packets, but
several states go much further into detail, making it clear to the applicant there will
be a need to apply for coverage. Exhibit V shows the Medicaid notifications included
in application packets used by a sample other states.

Exhibit V
Sample of State Medicaid Notifications
State Medicaid Notification

New Mexico If Medicaid is not applied for, application will not be approved for admission.

Florida All Veterans who are required to pay a share of cost must apply for monetary
benefits for which they may qualify that will assist in paying for their care at the
facility (i.e. Medicaid).

Kansas If it is determined that | will pay less than the full rate, | understand that as a
condition for continued residency, | must apply for Medicaid benefits.

North Dakota Prior to admission, residents may need to apply for all monetary benefits to which
they may be entitled from both the state and federal governments (Including but
not limited to: Aid and Attendance, Medicaid, efc.).

Virginia If you do not have at least 6 months of liquid assets available to you ($40,000),
then you should apply for Medicaid in the county in which you currently reside.

Source: State veterans homes application packets from a selection of the surveyed states.

3 Not all state veterans homes become Medicaid and/or Medicare certified, meaning they do not accept or
receive these types of coverage. Any such state was disregarded in this survey for purposes of analyzing
admission packets.

4 30 of 38 Medicaid-certified states post their veterans home application online. 24 of the 30 reference
Medicaid.
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These notifications do not ensure that an applicant will apply, but bring to the
applicant’s attention that applying for Medicaid will be a factor of admission to the
veterans’ home. This increases the likelihood the applicant will ask questions or
provide details they may not otherwise provide in the absence of similar
notifications.

Other States Include
Declaration Statements

Several states include declaration statements detailing the applicant’s financial
responsibilities, which must be attested to by the applicant. Exhibit VI shows the
declaration statements included in application packets used by a sample of other
states.

Exhibit VI
Sample of State Application Declarations

State Declaration Statement

Idaho | do hereby affirm, to the best of my knowledge that the above statements are true and | understand
that any falsification regarding my monthly income or assets will be reason for discharge from the
Home. If applying for nursing care, | further affirm that my income may be such that | am unable to
defray the necessary expenses of the medical care for which | am applying. | further understand that
| can be discharged from the Home for refusal or failure to pay the established maintenance charge
or related expenses.

Indiana Do you, in consideration of being admitted and maintained in the Indiana Veterans' Home,
understand that you or your estate are obligated to pay full cost of care and mainfenance?
(Depending on the amount of your current assets and income from any source this rate may be
reduced).

North Dakota I agree to furnish on request certification as to my assets, income, and sources of income. My
spouse and/or resident representative also agree fo provide financial information as may be required
for application for Medicaid benefits. | agree to pay for my cost of care from my income and assets
according to current rates set by the State of North Dakota as long as | am a resident. When my
funds are not enough, | agree to comply with eligibility requirements and will apply for State of North
Dakota Medicaid acceptance.

Maryland | agree to furnish, upon request, verification of assets and all sources of income. My spouse and/or
designated representative also agree fo provide financial information as required to apply for
Medicaid benefits. | agree to pay for my cost of care from my income and assets according to current
rates set by the State of Maryland as long as | am a resident. In case that available funding cannot
cover my cost of care, | agree to comply with the necessary steps in applying for Maryland Medicaid
assistance and benefits.

Pennsylvania | understand that, if | am admitted to a Pennsylvania Veterans Home, my estate and | will be legally
obligated to pay for the full cost of my care and maintenance while a resident of the Home. | further
understand that the Commonwealth is authorized to recover the costs of maintaining persons in
Pennsylvania Veterans Homes in accordance with Pennsylvania law .

Source: State veterans homes application packets from other states.
Though not all of these declaration statements reference Medicaid, each statement

makes clear the resident will be responsible for their share of cost. Placing an
increased emphasis on the applicant’s financial responsibilities may compel the
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applicant or their representative to make a greater effort to ensure their cost of care
at the home is going to be covered.

Additionally, some states provide supplemental forms or packets as part of the
admission process that go into further detail regarding payment for care, such as
the Actual Cost of Care Acknowledgement form used by South Dakota shown in
Exhibit VII.

Exhibit VII
South Dakota Cost of Care Acknowledgement

South Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs

Michael J. Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home

ACTUAL COST OF CARE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

|
if accepted as a resident at the South Dakota State Veterans Home, | will be

(Applicant/Representative) understand that

7’

responsible to pay the daily care rate of $325.00 per day. Statements will be
submitted by SDVH on the 1° of each month and is payable to SDVH by the 15™ of
the month.

It is understood that the South Dakota State Veterans Home is not responsible for
the personal finances of the resident. As the resident spends down their account
for their cost of care, the applicant/representative will inform the SDVH Business
Office when their bank account is diminished to $10,000 as a flag for the Medicaid
application process.

The Medicaid application process is the responsibility of the
applicant/representative. SDVH Business Office can assist with this process if
needed by contacting 605-745-5127 Ext. 1500114 or 1500120.

Should the Medicaid application be denied by the Department of Social Services,
l, (Applicant/Representative) understand that | will

continue to be responsible to pay the daily care rate.

Signature of Applicant or Representative Date

Source: South Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs.
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Obtaining this completed form from the applicant provides some transparency to
the admission process in South Dakota. The form draws attention to the Medicaid
application process, while also making clear the applicant will be responsible for
their share of costs at the home in the absence of Medicaid coverage. For
comparison, Exhibit VIII shows the only declaration statement in the South Home’s
admission application requiring certification from the applicant.

Exhibit VIII
South Home Application Certification Page

ATD-1202B
Has the applicant sold, transferred ownership, or gifted any property or financial assets in the
last five (5) years? [] No [] Yes

Are you/is the applicant:
Capable of making informed decisions relative to their healthcare? [ ]No []Yes

Capable of making informed decisions relative to their finances? [ No [Yes

COMMENTS

WITH MY SIGNATURE BELOW, | CERTIFY THE INFORMATION PROVIDED HEREIN IS TRUE AND
CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF:

Signature Printed Name

Date Relationship to Applicant

Source: South Home application packet.

The South Home application does not address Medicaid or the applicant’s financial
responsibilities. NDVS leadership represents Medicaid information is
communicated verbally after it appears likely the applicant would need Medicaid
coverage to reside at the home, but Admissions Coordinators do not document this
information. Documenting Medicaid and financial information disclosed during
admission provides more transparency in the application process and ensures
relevant information is communicated timely to applicants.
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Past Due Debt Is the Outcome of Denied Medicaid

Approximately $228,000 of the $1 million in debt that is at least 90 days past due is
the responsibility of residents who were denied Medicaid coverage. This means
those residents received a combined $228,000 in care at the home while expecting
Medicaid to cover the charges, just to ultimately be denied and burdened with the
debt. Although the eligibility requirements for coverage may be strict, the reasons
an individual may be disqualified are publicly available and accessible to NDVS. An
increased effort to obtain details from the applicant prior to admission to the home
would help mitigate the risks of admitting someone ineligible for coverage or
proceeding with a prolonged Medicaid application process for a resident that will be
denied coverage. While NDVS is not obligated to submit Medicaid applications, it
should perform due diligence in ensuring applicants will qualify for coverage.

No Probe for Asset
Transfer Details

NDVS points to the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Healthcare Financing and Policy (DHCFP)’s discovery of disallowed asset transfers
as the most common reason Medicaid coverage is denied. It appears NDVS does
not make a sufficient effort to obtain asset details from the applicant during the
admission process. Applicants are asked whether or not they transferred any
assets in the past 5 years but are given no follow-up questions or additional
information. Asking follow-up questions may better assist applicants or their
representatives understand what qualifies as an “asset” as it relates to Medicaid
eligibility requirements. Furthermore, the internal checklist of instructions for
Admissions Coordinators only directs the application reviewer to inquire about
assets if the applicant checked “yes,” meaning asset details may go unaddressed
when mistakenly checked “no.”

NDVS conducts a background check independently from applicant involvement,
such as a search for property in the applicant’s name using LexisNexis. This is a
highly relevant and constructive procedure to perform whether or not the applicant
provides asset details, but not giving the applicant a better opportunity to volunteer
information is inefficient and could lead to incorrect determinations. For example, a
home owned by the applicant may not show up in a background check, while the
applicant might have volunteered that information had appropriate inquiries been
made.

In reviewing state veterans home applications around the country, DIA noted that
the majority of homes that ask whether any assets were transferred in the past five
years follow-up with a request for details. Some of those requests may be as simple
as asking the applicant to provide the value of the asset and the date of transfer.
Some states, such as lowa, make a noted effort to obtain extended details from the
applicant. Exhibit IX shows the supplemental page from lowa’s application packet.
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Exhibit IX
lowa Request for Asset Transfer Details

SUPPLEMENT TO APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION
TO THE IOWA VETERANS HOME

Have you or your spouse sold or given away any property (land, cash [including bonds, stocks,
Certificates of Deposit], home, etc.) in the last 60 months or placed assets into a trust within the
last 60 months?

Yes No
If you answered YES to this question, please provide documentation of the property
sold/given away and complete the following information for each circumstance. Use
additional sheets as necessary.

a. Description of the property, which was sold, given away, or placed in a trust:

b. What was the value of the property at the time you sold or gave it away?

How much did you receive as compensation for the property?

d. When did you sell or give the property away?

e. Who did you sell or give the property to?

f.  What is your relationship to this person?

g. If compensation received for the property was less than the value of the property, please
explain your reasons for accepting less than the fair market value for the property:

h. Did you attempt to sell the property at its fair market value? Yes No

| understand | assume full responsibility for the accuracy of the statement on this form and |
understand the lowa Veterans Home will use this statement to determine charges for care and
treatment.

| am aware that lowa laws provide anyone who obtains, or attempts to obtain, or who aids or
abets any person to obtain public assistance to which he or she is not entitled is guilty of
violating the laws of the State of lowa, including but not limited to Chapter 35D of the Code of
lowa.

| HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE STATEMENTS MADE HEREIN ARE TRUE AND CORRECT
TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.

Signature or Mark of Applicant (or Financial Legal Representative) DATE

Applicant's Name (Please type or print) Social Security Number
475-0843 (Rev 12/13)

Source: lowa Veterans Home application packet.

The follow-up questions may help the applicant better understand the relevance of
asking whether any assets were transferred in the previous five years. Some
applicants may be unaware they possess potentially non-exempt assets until these
details are requested from them. These details may prompt additional questions or
initiate conversations with Admissions Coordinators that may not otherwise occur.
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Conclusion

Integrating Medicaid-related questions and applicable information into NDVS’
admission packet will enhance transparency, allowing applicants to better
understand Medicaid's stringent eligibility requirements and engage in relevant
discussions regarding their financial responsibilities. The lack of transparency and
communication in the application process involving Medicaid requirements has led
to confusion among applicants, many of whom were unprepared for denial of
coverage and the subsequent accumulation of debt. Documenting Medicaid
disclosures to applicants early in the admission process would mitigate such risks
and ensure compliance with industry best practices, as followed by other state
veterans homes. This revision is critical for reducing misunderstandings and
minimizing financial liabilities, both for residents and NDVS.

Recommendation

4. Revise admission application to include Medicaid information.
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Submit Medicaid Application at Start of Admission Process and
Train Staff on Updated Admission Processes

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should submit the Medicaid
application at the start of the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home)
admission process for applicants expecting to need Medicaid and train staff on
updated admission processes. Submitting Medicaid applications at the start of the
admission process would expedite any potential Medicaid appeals and decrease
the amount of accumulated debt of residents denied Medicaid coverage.

Medicaid Applications Submitted Unnecessarily Late

Medicaid applications are currently submitted no less than 30 days following the
resident’'s move-in date, based on the statutory requirement that the resident be
institutionalized a minimum of 30 consecutive days to qualify. However,
applications can be processed sooner if the applicant’s physician states that the
applicant is likely to be in the institution at least 30 consecutive days.

NDVS waits 30 days or longer after the resident is admitted to the South Home to
submit their Medicaid application. There may be certain instances where untimely
Medicaid application submissions are unavoidable, such as unexpectedly longer
stays. Some residents are admitted expecting a short-term stay, only to see their
health decline to the point that they require care well past 30 days, at which point
the need for Medicaid becomes a factor.

Aside from unexpected circumstances, determining the potential need for Medicaid
coverage at the start of the admission process is straightforward. All applicants are
required to provide the income and financial asset information necessary to begin
Medicaid eligibility procedures as part of the admission process. While NDVS may
be limited in its ability to ensure applicants provide accurate information, it can still
take steps towards preparing and submitting the Medicaid applications for those
with a high likelihood of qualifying for coverage.

Early Processing Allowed

The Medical Assistance Manual published by the Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS), which details
eligibility policy for all medical assistance programs, including Medicaid, outlines an
exception to waiting 30 days to submit Medicaid applications. Those applications
may be processed sooner when the applicant’s physician states the applicant will
likely be in the institution at least 30 consecutive days.'® Exhibit X shows the 30-
day exception from DWSS’s Medical Assistance Manual, chapter “Long Term Care
Services,” section F-100.

15 Applicant is designated “customer” in the Medicaid Assistance Manual
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Exhibit X
30-Day Exception

LONG TERM CARE SERVICES

F-100 PERSONS INSTITUTIONALIZED AT LEAST 30 CONSECUTIVE DAYS

The term “institutionalized” refers to a person who is receiving long-term care services in
a medical or nursing facility, or has been screened and approved to receive Medicaid-
covered Long-Term Care (LTC) services in the person’s home or community setting. The
individual must be in the institution at least 30 consecutive days. In determining the
number of days in a medical institution for eligibility purposes, include the date of
admission, but not the date of discharge/death. Applications can be processed under this
category prior to the 30th day based on a licensed physician’s statement the customer is
likely to be in the institution at least 30 consecutive days.

Source: Division of Welfare and Supportive Services.

This exception recognizes when it is evident a resident will need Medicaid
coverage, there is no need to postpone submission of the application. Actual
coverage will not begin until after the resident has been admitted for 30 consecutive
days. However, if the physician confirms the resident will likely reach that minimum
stay, it is in all parties’ best interest to initiate the application process immediately.

Medicaid Application Can
Be Prepared for Short Stay

NDVS can still be proactive in preparing for a change in status even if the physician
does not believe the applicant will be admitted to the home for at least 30 days.
Residents may experience a decline in their health during their stay and need care
for a longer period than anticipated. All the information necessary to reasonably
assess whether South Home applicants will be able to self-pay balances due is
collected during the admission process. It would be efficient to prepare the
necessary information for those who appear to have insufficient income to self-pay,
even if NDVS may not yet be able to submit the Medicaid application.

South Home applicants are required to submit a medical certification packet
completed by their physician as part of the admission process. The packet provides
an analysis of a wide array of medical information, such as the applicant’s level of
memory impairment, the applicant’s diet, and whether the applicant has a history of
drug use. There is a section for an evaluation of the applicant’s need for assistance
with activities of daily living, such as bathing, dressing, toileting, and grooming. The
packet requests a description from the physician of the applicant’s need for 24-hour
nursing care.

The packet does not provide a section for the physician to state if the applicant is
likely to be admitted to the home for at least 30 consecutive days. The exception to
processing the Medicaid application early does not require the physician to affirm
that the applicant will be admitted to the home for at least 30 days; it only requires
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the physician’s input as to whether a 30-day stay is likely. This important distinction
simplifies the matter of revising the medical certification packet to obtain this
information.

Ongoing Deficiency Noted by Legislative Auditor in 2021

Submitting untimely Medicaid applications is not a recent challenge for NDVS. A
performance audit of NDVS conducted by the Legislative Auditor in 2021, found
that NDVS was struggling with Medicaid enroliment. Specifically, the audit found
NDVS did not have an established, formalized process for assisting residents with
enrollment into Medicaid. Testing procedures performed during the audit found it
took over 140 days to submit an application for some residents, while others who
may have qualified for Medicaid were never enrolled. The audit found untimely
Medicaid enroliment could result in less revenue for NDVS and unnecessary debt
for disadvantaged veterans.

Written Policy Updated
and Staff Added

As a result of the Legislative audit, NDVS updated its written policy and procedure
for assisting residents with enrollment into Medicaid. Policy # G-1265, “Veterans,
Medicaid, and Medicare Information,” was revised on December 10, 2021, with the
following two primary changes aimed towards improving Medicaid enroliment:

e At the time of inquiry about admissions to the Southern Nevada State
Veterans Home, the Admissions Coordinator or designee will provide
information on filling out the Medicaid/Medicare application, contact
information to apply for benefits under Medicaid and Medicare rules and
regulations, and set up a meeting with the Veterans Services Officer to
discuss potential veterans’ benefits.

e The Social Worker assigned to the resident will follow up in 15 days from
the date of admission with the resident or their representative regarding any
needed assistance or documentation needed to complete a Medicaid or
Medicare application.

In addition to updating the written policy, NDVS coordinated with the DWSS
outreach program to staff a DWSS-funded Medicaid eligibility worker meant to
assist with Medicaid enrollment in the South Home on a part-time basis.

Corrective Actions Should
Be Communicated to Staff

The effort by NDVS to revise its written policy was a constructive step towards
improving Medicaid enrollment deficiencies; however, changes to the written policy
alone does not ensure that Medicaid eligibility issues are addressed with the South
Home applicants, or in a timely manner. Admissions Coordinators may not always
discuss Medicaid with the applicant or may lack the proper training in Medicaid

26 of 42



eligibility requirements to accurately address the subject. Furthermore, Admissions
Coordinators are only expected to bring Medicaid to the attention of applicants
appearing to need coverage, which may exclude those for whom coverage has
been inaccurately assessed as unnecessary.

The staff-focused changes are primarily geared towards addressing Medicaid
issues subsequent to a resident’s admission to the home. Staff are not expected to
assist with Medicaid enrollments until after the resident has already been admitted,
after which there is less recourse to ensure that the applicant will be eligible for
Medicaid coverage or can self-pay their balances.

Moreover, staff are only expected to assist the resident with enroliment after a
determination is made to submit an application and with following up on requests
for additional info from Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Healthcare Financing and Policy, application appeals, and pending Medicaid
applications. Staff are not responsible for ensuring South Home applicants have
been properly screened for Medicaid eligibility or that pertinent Medicaid matters
have been adequately addressed with the applicant prior to admission. There is no
mechanism to ensure social workers follow-up with the resident within 15 days as
required in the written policy revision. Staff should receive training on the updated
admission procedures to ensure staff are aware of the existing and recommended
updates to admission procedures.

Conclusion

NDVS can reduce the time residents spend in "Medicaid Pending" status by
submitting applications at the start of the admission process for applicants expected
to need Medicaid coverage. This can accelerate potential appeals and mitigate the
financial burden for residents denied coverage. Current inefficiencies, including late
submissions and a lack of clarity regarding Medicaid requirements during
admissions, resulted in delayed coverage. Although previous corrective actions
were taken, such as updating written policies and adding Medicaid workers, these
steps were insufficiently enforced. Training staff on the admission process would
address these gaps, ensuring that Medicaid-related issues are properly discussed
and addressed from the start of the admission process, thus improving both
transparency and financial outcomes for residents and NDVS.

Recommendation

5. Submit Medicaid application at start of admission process and train staff on
updated admission processes.
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Seek a BDR to Join the Nurse Licensure Compact

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) should seek a Bill Draft
Request (BDR) to join the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Joining the NLC would
make Nevada competitive with other states. Nevada is one of only four states that
have not yet joined the NLC or do not currently have pending legislation to join the
compact. NLC membership enhances disaster preparedness and increases access
to healthcare by increasing the pool of medical providers permitted to provide care
within the state. In the event of an emergency, nurses from other member states
can be hired immediately across state lines.

Nevada Hit by Critical Nursing Shortage

Research provided to the Legislature during the 2023 legislative session
emphasized Nevada’s critical nursing shortage. The Nevada Health Workforce
Research Center (the Center) at the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
reported Nevada needs an estimated 4,000 additional registered nurses (RN) to
meet the national population-to-RN average. The Center further reported that 67%
of the state’s population resides in what are considered primary medical care health
professional shortage areas. Recent data shows Nevada ranks in the bottom five
states for RNs per 1,000 people.

Healthcare Shortages
Directly Affect NDVS

As a 180-bed skilled nursing facility, the Southern Nevada State Veterans Home
(South Home) is heavily reliant on the nursing workforce and is affected by nursing
shortages. Both the South Home and the Northern Nevada State Veterans Home
(North Home) have struggled with high turnover and vacancies over the years,
facing issues such as competition for benefits and amenities, low pay, and the
South Home’s remote location. As of September 23, 2024, there were 20 vacant
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) positions, four vacant Licensed Practical Nurse
(LPN) positions, and one vacant Registered Nurse (RN) position at the South
Home.'® NDVS has made commendable efforts towards improving recruitment and
retention, such as providing a tuition-free CNA training program and coordinating
with local colleges to promote South Home job opportunities, but continues to
experience difficulties recruiting and retaining healthcare professionals.

The Center Recommended Joining the Nurse Licensure Compact

The Center’s report to the Legislature included 12 overlapping policy options and
strategies to help combat the nursing shortage. One strategy is to implement policy
measures to expedite the licensure of RNs and nurse practitioners from other states
by enacting Nevada’s participation in the NLC. The NLC is an interstate agreement
allowing nurses to practice in other member states without the need to obtain a

6 CNAs are not immediately impacted by changes to nurse licensing, as they are not licensed nurses. However,
some CNAs work towards nurse licensure and will be influenced by career prospects once eligible for licensure.
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separate license in those states. Nurses may have a multistate NLC license, a
single state license, or both.

40 States Are Members of the
Compact and 6 Are Pending

The NLC officially began operating in January 2000 with just four states — Maryland,
Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin. As of July 2024, 40 states are now members of the
compact and six more had pending legislation to join the NLC. Only Oregon,
Nevada, Hawaii, and Alaska had not joined the compact and had no pending
legislation to do so.

NLC Member States Are Better Prepared to Respond to Disasters

Membership in the NLC increases access to healthcare and enhances disaster
preparedness. In a letter to the State Nurses Association submitted during the 2023
legislative session, representatives of the Interstate Commission of Nurse
Licensure Compact Administrators emphasized the NLC does not purport to
alleviate a nursing shortage. The compact simply allows a nurse with an NLC
license to practice in another member state without obtaining a license in that state.
It does not increase the supply of nurses.

One of the primary purposes of the compact is to allow nurses to practice in other
states in the event of a disaster or other public health emergency. The recent
COVID-19 pandemic is a prime example of the need for rapid mobilization, when
hospitals and medical facilities experienced drastic increases in patients’ need for
immediate medical attention. Nurses from NLC member states were able to provide
critical care immediately across state lines. Meanwhile, non-member states were
left to navigate the crisis using only nurses licensed in-state until executive orders
were issued to temporarily rescind regulatory requirements.

Considerable support for Nevada to Join the Compact

Assembly Bill (AB) 108 was referred to the Committee on Commerce and Labor
during the 2023 legislative session, which would have entered Nevada into the
NLC. The bill did not receive a vote, but a considerable amount of testimony from
individuals and institutions was submitted to the Legislature in support of Nevada
joining the compact. Exhibit XI shows a list of institutions that submitted testimony
in support of joining the NLC.
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Exhibit XI

Support for Joining the Nurse Licensure Compact

National Council of State Boards of Nursing
Nevada Hospital Association

Unitek College (Nursing School)

Advanced Medical Technology Association
High Sierra Area Health Education Center
Nevada Healthcare Association

Incline Village Community Hospital

Nevada Nurses Association

Solidarity Mental Health Senvices, LLC
Carson Tahoe Health

Renown Regional Medical Center

Alta Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
Asian American Group

Sunrise Health System

Centennial Hills Hospital

Desert Springs Hospital

Dignity Health - St. Rose Dominican
Intermountain Healthcare

Humboldt General Hospital

Case Management Association of Las Vegas

Infinity Hospice Care

Dept. of Defense, Military Community & Family Policy
Nevada Action Coalition

Nevada Alliance for Nursing Excellence

Nevada Care Providers

Nevada Community Health Center

Nevada Health Professionals Network

Nevada Nursing Student Association

Perry Foundation

Philippine Nurses Association of Nevada

Revive Senior Care Management, LLC

Nevada Pathological Association

UNLV School of Nursing

University of the Philippines Alumni Association of NV
Wingfield Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
Nevada Rural Children's Mental Health Consortium
Nevada Health Workforce Research Center - UNR
HCA Healthcare

Source: DIA analysis of AB 108 exhibits.

These institutions are direct stakeholders in the nursing profession, from those that
educate the labor force to those that provide employment. As direct stakeholders,
these institutions possess firsthand knowledge of the issues impacting the nursing
profession and of the anticipated benefits of Nevada joining the NLC.

NDVS is a Stakeholder of Healthcare in Nevada

The South Home is heavily reliant on healthcare professionals, with 82 CNA, 27
LPN, and 24 RN positions authorized. Additionally, the North Home employs 64
CNAs, 20 LPNs, and 27 RNs."” These state veterans homes are skilled nursing
facilities operating for the purpose of providing medical care to the residents. NDVS
has a vested interest in making efforts to modernize and advance healthcare
professions in Nevada as a direct stakeholder.

Participation in NLC Recognized
as an Issue Affecting Veterans

The Nevada Legislature enacted AB 62 in 2015, requiring the NDVS Director to
transmit a digital report summarizing passed legislation affecting veterans to each

17 Staff at the North Home are employees of the third-party management company; however, oversight of the
home is the responsibility of NDVS.
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Nevada veteran with an email address on file. The report must be transmitted
following the end of each regular legislative session and must include a description
of issues affecting veterans considered by the Legislature but not enacted. Issues
affecting veterans are identified through input received directly from veterans during
community events, including:

e The Veterans Legislative Symposium;
e The Veterans Legislative Summit; and
e Veterans and Military Day at the Legislature.

Input is solicited at these events for issues important to veterans that could be
considered for a BDR and to facilitate the participation of veterans, their families,
and their supporters in the legislative process. The Report on the 82" Legislative
Session in 2023 recognized five separate statewide themes based on input from
event participants, the first of which was to “improve medical and mental health care
programs.” The report further recognized AB 108 was among the bills under
consideration by the Legislature that would have had an impact on improving
medical and mental healthcare for Nevada’s veterans.

Nevada Was Proactive in Joining an Interstate Compact for Physicians

During the annual meeting of the Federation of State Medical Boards in 2013,
delegates unanimously approved a resolution to convene representatives from
state medical boards and special experts to study the development of an interstate
compact for licensing physicians. The resolution was introduced as a mechanism
to streamline physician licensing processes, better accommodate the use of
telemedicine in the delivery of healthcare, and protect the public. An early version
of what would become the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) was
introduced in 2014, which was adopted by a number of state legislatures, including
Nevada during the 2015 legislative session. The IMLC became operational in April
2017, making Nevada among the first states to begin modernizing the physician
licensure process in fast-evolving medical professions.

The Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners (Board) reported a surge in issued
medical licenses in a recent press release. As of July 1, 2024, the number of
licenses issued was 16,760, an increase of 1,011 from the prior year. The Executive
Director of the Board attributed the boost in medical license seekers, in part, to
IMLC membership. IMLC-issued medical doctors licenses in Nevada now account
for 51.2% of the total medical doctor licenses issued, suggesting there is a
preference for multi-state licensure versus single-state licensure.

Lack of Success in Joining NLC
Inconsistent with IMLC Efforts

Nevada’s lack of success in joining the NLC appears inconsistent with the state’s
previous preemptive ratification of the IMLC. The provisions and objectives of the
IMLC emulate those of the NLC that came before it. Both compacts were
implemented to reduce regulatory burdens to practicing medicine across state lines
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and increase mobility of healthcare professionals. Both compacts recognize the
evolution of remote telemedicine/telehealth as a means for providing health care.

Member states of each compact retain regulatory autonomy for issuing licenses
and disciplining licensees practicing in their state. Membership in each compact
facilitates a streamlined exchange of investigative information on licensees and
disciplinary action taken across states. The expected benefits from joining the NLC
could be similar to the benefits Nevada received by joining the IMLC.

Ability to Travel
Lucrative for Nurses

A multi-state license allows for practicing as a traveling nurse, making it preferable
to a single state license. Hospitals and other healthcare facilities hire traveling
nurses on short-term contracts during periods of short staffing. Traveling nurses
tend to earn a higher salary, earning an average of $133,376 per year, compared
to staff nurses who earn an average of $93,676 per year.'®. Other benefits for
traveling nurses include:

e Travel exposure — The opportunity to work and live in a variety of locations
in the country and across the world;

e Unique professional experience — Working in different environments offers
exposure to different ways of performing nursing tasks in various healthcare
systems; and

o Lifestyle flexibility — Short-term contracts offer the opportunity to take
preferred time off before committing to the next contract.

These benefits increase the appeal of an NLC license, which allows the holder to
travel between member states for work without having to obtain a new license.
Those with an NLC license are not required to travel for work, but have the option
to do so without additional hassle. This contrasts with Nevada, where nurses
holding a Nevada license would have to obtain a separate license to secure an out-
of-state travel opportunity.

NLC Membership Facilitates Remote Practice

Demand is increasing nationwide for remote telemedicine/telehealth and online
medical training and education. Nurses wishing to provide telehealth or instruct
online training courses must have a valid license in the state where the services
are received. This means Nevada institutions are limited to only those nurses with
a Nevada license. NLC member states can utilize nurses located in any other
member state, giving member states access to a much larger pool of available
nurses.

18 According to Indeed.com, a job search website that maintains data on salaries by occupation.
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State Policy to
Boost Telehealth

In 2015, the Legislature passed AB 292 to amend NRS 629. The bill declares it is
the public policy of the state to encourage and facilitate the provision of services
through telehealth to improve public health and the quality of healthcare provided
to patients. The law was amended prior to the massive increase in demand for
telehealth services necessitated by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Legislature made
several observations specifically related to healthcare issues in remote,
underserved areas of the state, including:

e The shortage of healthcare providers in remote areas affects people’s ability
to obtain services;

e Parts of the state experience difficulties attracting and retaining healthcare
providers and supporting healthcare facilities; and

e Healthcare providers in remote areas may not have access to mentors and
colleagues or information resources to assist them in practice.

The bill recognized that telehealth has the potential to help address the problem of
an inadequate distribution of providers and to increase the quality of, and access
to, healthcare in underserved areas of the state.

The federal Health Resources and Services Administration has designated all 17
counties in Nevada as health professional shortage areas to varying degrees.
Fourteen counties are recognized as entirely rural, while primarily urban counties
Clark and Washoe are recognized as containing some rural areas. Carson City is
recognized as fully urban.

Lawmakers Moved to
Expand Nursing Programs

The Legislature enacted Senate Bill 375 in 2023, appropriating $10 million for each
of fiscal years 2024 and 2025 to the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE).
NSHE must use the appropriation to create a targeted funding grant program to
expand undergraduate and graduate nursing programs. The Legislature recognized
in the bill that funding will help address the nursing shortage and shortage of faculty
and clinical instructors.

If any expansion of the nursing programs involves the utilization of online courses,
then postsecondary institutions will be limited to only those instructors with a
Nevada nursing license. The state would have access to a much larger pool of
potential instructors for online courses by joining the NLC. Additionally, employing
out-of-state faculty to instruct online courses may free up the limited number of
faculty located in-state to concentrate on in-person, clinical-centric nursing courses.
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Nursing Education
Evolving Online

Postsecondary enrollment in online courses has grown significantly the last few
decades. The number of students enrolled in at least one online course grew from
approximately 26% in 2012 to over 54% in 2022. Similarly, enrollment in online
graduate nursing courses increased by more than 13% from 2015 to 2019. In 2020,
over 90% of nursing programs used some level of virtual or online learning. Some
advantages to attending online nursing courses include:

e Accessibility to students residing in rural areas;
e Flexibility; and
e A variety of learning formats.

Deficiencies in Emergency Directive

The COVID-19 pandemic, which was declared a nationwide emergency on March
13, 2020, provided a significant example of a sudden, urgent need for expanded
medical services. Like the rest of the globe, Nevada was in dire need of more
medical professionals to address the surge in the population affected by the iliness.
Emergency Directive 011 was signed by former Governor Sisolak on April 1, 2020,
to expand the pool of available medical providers. The directive waived the licensing
requirements of NRS 414, allowing medical providers to practice in Nevada without
being licensed in the state. No such directive was necessary for NLC member
states to use out-of-state providers.

Help was Delayed
for Three Weeks

Approximately three weeks elapsed between the declaration of a nationwide
emergency and implementation of Emergency Directive 011. Nurses without a
Nevada license could not practice in the state during that period. In contrast, NLC
member states did not need emergency directives to allow nurses to practice across
state lines.

Providers wishing to practice in the state under the directive were required to notify
the applicable Nevada licensing board and provide any requested information. This
was yet another step that would not have been required under the NLC. Delaying
the ability to employ additional medical providers until licensing requirements were
waived resulted in a delayed response to the healthcare needs of Nevadans.

Additionally, information required by applicable Nevada licensing boards during the
pandemic appears to have been limited and was not constructed to screen medical
providers wishing to practice under the directive. The waiver form required by the
Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners allowed providers to begin practicing as
soon as the form was submitted, without approval. Exhibit XIl shows the language
of the waiver required by the emergency directive.
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Exhibit XII
Board of Medical Examiners Waiver Excerpt

Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners

Notification of Emergency License During Declaration of
Emergency Directive 011

On April 1, 2020, Governor Sisolak issued Emergency Directive 01l to temporarily waive licensing
requirements for the following: physicians, physician assistants, respiratory care practitioners and
perfusionists. The waiver applies to qualified providers who currently hold a valid license in good
standing in another state. Ineligible providers include those whose licenses have been revoked or
voluntarily surrendered as a result of disciplinary proceedings. All individuals working under this
directive must complete this form and return it to the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners. You are
not required to obtain approval from the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners; once you have
submitted this form, you are immediately eligible to begin working under the directive.

Source: Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners.

By allowing individuals to begin working without being vetted or receiving board
approval, an unscrupulous out-of-state provider with a revoked license could have
performed medical services without being detected. Similarly, the only information
requested from the Nevada State Board of Nursing was a notification to the board
attesting that the nurse met the requirements of the emergency directive.

Nurses wishing to obtain an NLC license are subject to the stringent uniform
requirements of the compact that include a fingerprint criminal background check.
Nurses convicted of felony or misdemeanor offenses related to the practice of
nursing are ineligible for licensure. Further, the compact facilitates the exchange of
information in the areas of nurse regulation, investigation, and adverse actions
between member states. Public safety is enhanced through these actions by
ensuring nurses with an active NLC license have been properly vetted.

Directive Exposes Flaws
in NLC Opposition

The Nevada State Board of Nursing requires 30 hours of nursing-related continuing
education (CE) per license renewal cycle to maintain a license. Opponents contend
joining the NLC would lower standards for licensure because a number of member
states do not require CE hours. The CE requirement for Nevada, however, was
waived as part of Emergency Directive 011, allowing nurses to practice without
having obtained the CE hours. The directive effectively recognized that this barrier
to practice became less relevant when faced with a surge in the need for nursing
care during an emergency.

Opponents also contend joining the NLC will not improve staffing shortages, but the
purpose of the NLC is not to alleviate staffing shortages. Rather, membership in the
NLC is meant to help cover gaps in care during patient surges and emergencies by
allowing nurses to practice across state lines. The need to cover gaps in care during
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the COVID-19 pandemic was the objective of Emergency Directive 011, showing
Nevada stood to benefit from NLC membership.

Conclusion

Nevada's participation in the NLC will help address critical challenges to healthcare
access in the state and enhance disaster preparedness by expanding the available
nursing workforce. Joining the NLC would streamline the nurse licensure process,
allowing nurses from other member states to practice without obtaining additional
licensure, thereby alleviating short-term staffing needs. The state has already
demonstrated a proactive approach by adopting a similar compact for physicians,
indicating that NLC membership could yield similar benefits in the nursing field.
Enhancing Nevada'’s ability to respond rapidly during public health emergencies will
improve overall healthcare access, particularly in underserved areas of the state.

Recommendation

6. Seek a BDR to join the Nurse Licensure Compact.
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Appendix A

Scope and Methodology,
Background, and Acknowledgments

Scope and Methodology

We began the audit in February 2024. In the course of our work, we interviewed
members of management from the Nevada Department of Veterans Services
(NDVS) to discuss processes inherent to NDVS’s operations. We reviewed NDVS
records and researched legislative history, state budget manual procedures,
applicable Nevada Revised Statutes, Nevada Administrative Code, Nevada State
Administrative Manual, governmental generally accepted accounting principles,
and other state and federal guidelines. We concluded fieldwork in September 2024.

We conducted our audit in conformance with the International Standards for the
Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

Background

For over 75 years, the Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) has been
dedicated to helping an estimated 250,000 Nevada veterans get the services,
benefits, and quality of life they deserve. The men and women of NDVS are
honored to address any issue, problem, or concern of Nevada’s veterans, serving
military, and their families.

In addition to offering benefits, counseling, and assistance, including filing U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) claims at no cost, NDVS operates a nationally
recognized Southern Nevada State Veterans Home (South Home) in Boulder
City and the Northern Nevada State Veterans Home (North Home) in Sparks.
NDVS also offers burial services and support with obtaining military honors at
memorial cemeteries located in Northern and Southern Nevada. Exhibit XIll shows
NDVS’s revenue by funding source for fiscal year 2024.
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http://veterans.nv.gov/page/nevada-veterans-memorial-cemeteries

Exhibit Xl

NDVS Revenue for Fiscal Year 2024

$40,578,640.65

$2,370,880.92

$3,620,285.00

T $2.148,890.00
$1867.594.00 T $1,393,690.65
= General Fund ApprophAations * Beginning Cash Federal Grants
= South Home Revenus® = Morth Home Revenue” = Cemetary/Internment Fess

» Cther®

Source:
Notes:

The South Home is an award-winning, 180-bed skilled nursing facility located in
Boulder City. The state-owned and operated facility serves eligible veterans, their
spouses, and gold star parents. Skilled nursing care is provided 24 hours a day, 7
days a week, along with a variety of medical programs, including Alzheimer’s and
dementia care. Exhibit XIV shows the revenue for the South Home by funding

Data Warehouse of Nevada.

@ North Home revenue includes a State General Fund appropriation, beginning cash, VA per diem,

cash distribution from the management company, and ARPA funds.

b Other includes Treasurer's interest distribution, gifts and donations, and license plate charges.

¢ South Home revenue is shown in Exhibit XIV.

source for fiscal year 2024.
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Exhibit XIV
South Home Revenue for Fiscal Year 2024

[ $1.225,414 84

~ $1.126,580.06

1 Beginning Cash = VA Reimbusement Medicare Charges

1 Patient Collections = Medicaid Charges ] Clﬂ'uar’::I

Source: Data Warehouse of Nevada.
Note:  2Other includes hospice charges, Clark County receipts, insurance recoveries, and ARPA funds.
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Appendix B

Nevada Department of Veterans Services
Response and Implementation Plan

JOE LOMBARDO
Governar

STATE OF NEVADA

NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES
6630 South McCarran Blvd, Building C, Suite 204

Reno, Nevada 89509
(775) 688-1653 - Fax (775) 688-1656

October 10, 2024

Craig Stevenson

Administrator, Division of Internal Audits
Governor's Finance Office, Nevada
c.stevenson@finance.nv.gov

Re: NDVS Response to SNSVH Audit Recommendations

Dear Administrator Stevenson

The Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS) would like to thank you and your team
for your assistance with helping us to improve. NDVS is committed to implementing these

recommendations and improving our processes and services.

Below is the anticipated timetable tor implementing the audit recommendations.

admission process and training staff on updated admission
processes

Recommendation Time Frame

1. Submit Applicable Past Due Debts to the State Controller for 6 months
Collections

2. Pursue Updated MOU with the State Controller's Office 6-9 months

3. Record Accounts Receivable in Accordance with GAAP 6 months

4. Revise Admission Application to Include Medicaid 6 months
Information

5. Submitting the Medicaid application at the start of the 6 months

4. Seek a BDR to join the Nurse Licensure Compact

If not possible in 2025
Legislative Session would
be submitted in 2027
Legislative Session

j Submit Applicable Past Due Debts to the State Controller for Collections
NDVS will reach out to the State Controller's Office and set the process for the
submittal of past due debts asrecommended. In addition, staff will be trained on the

process to ensure continuity moving forward.
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Craig Stevenson

NDVS Response to Audit Recommendations (DIA 24-01)
October 10, 2024

Page | 2

2. Pursue Updated MOU with the State Controller's Office.
NDVS will reach out to the State Controller's Office and share the recommendations
provided in the audit and work on a new comprehensive MOU. Taking intfo account
the impact to both offices of the new state financial system coming online and the
upcoming legislative session NDVS anticipates it may take up to 9 months to
accomplish this change; however, the department is committed to implementation as
quickly as possible.

3. Record Accounts Receivable in Accordance with GAAP.
NDVS will work with the audit team and State Controller's Office to ensure the
Accounts Receivables are recorded as outlined. Finance staff will be trained on the
Office of the State Controllers Policies and Procedure regarding accounts receivable.

4. Revise Admission Application to Include Medicaid Information
NDVS will review the recommendation and examples provides and revise the
admission application to include written information regarding the Medicaid process
in addition to the information currently being provided verbally with the goal of
providing greater clarity to the applicant and families/guardians related to the
process, rules and obligations associated with the Medicaid application process.

5. Submitting the Medicaid application at the start of the admission process and training
staff on updated admission processes.
NDVS will review and refine the Medicaid application process to achieve greater
efficiency in the submission of these applications. Training will be provided to
admissions, social workers, fiscal and any other feam members as necessary to ensure
all have the tools necessary to meet this recommendation.

6. Seek a BDR to join the Nurse Licensure Compact.
© As the deadline for agency BDR submissions has passed NDVS will research to see if it is
possible to submit a request for the upcoming legislative session. If it is not possible fo
submit a BDR for the 2025 session, NDVS will submit a request for the 2027 legislative
session for consideration.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me should you require any additional informafion.
Thank you.

Sinceraly, \
Morry/DeV' , Director
"Serving Nevada's Heroes"
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Appendix C

Timetable for Implementing
Audit Recommendations

In consultation with the Nevada Department of Veterans Services (NDVS), the
Division of Internal Audits categorized the recommendations contained within this
report into two separate implementation time frames (i.e., Category 1 — less than
six months; Category 2 — more than six months). NDVS should begin taking steps
to implement all recommendations as soon as possible. The target completion
dates are incorporated from Appendix B.

Category 1: Recommendations with an anticipated
implementation period less than six months.

Recommendation Time Frame

1. Submit applicable past due debts to the State Controller for  April 2025

collections.
3. Record accounts receivable in accordance with GAAP. April 2025
4. Revise admission application to include Medicaid April 2025
information.

5. Submit Medicaid application at start of admission process April 2025
and train staff on updated admission processes.

Category 2: Recommendations with an anticipated
implementation period exceeding six months.

Recommendation Time Frame

2. Pursue an updated MOU with the State Controller’s Office. July 2025

6. Seek a BDR to join the Nurse Licensure Compact. July 2025

The Division of Internal Audits shall evaluate the actions taken by NDVS concerning
the recommendations within six months from the issuance of this report. The
Division of Internal Audits must report the results of its evaluation to the Executive
Branch Audit Committee and NDVS.
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