Report to Taxpayers

Per Nevada Revised Statute 353.333 on or before January 1 of each year a Nevada Report to Taxpayers is compiled to provide a description on the status of the finances of the State including local governments.

    Agency Reports

    Nevada City and County Budgets

    City Budgets County Budgets
    Boulder City Carson City
    Caliente Churchill 
    Carlin Clark
    Elko Douglas
    Ely Elko
    Fallon Esmeralda
    Fernley Eureka
    Henderson Humboldt
    Las Vegas Lander
    Lovelock Lincoln
    Mesquite Lyon
    North Las Vegas Mineral
    Reno Nye
    Sparks Pershing
    Wells Storey
    West Wendover Washoe
    Winnemucca White Pine

      About Nevada Counties

      The first Nevada Territorial Legislature established nine counties on November 25, 1861, including Churchill, Douglas, Esmeralda, Humboldt, Lyon, Ormsby, Storey, Washoe and Lake. Only Humboldt County, which existed as a county within the Utah Territory, was retained and established as a county within both the Nevada Territory and, subsequently, the State of Nevada. The largest territorial county was Esmeralda which, along with Churchill and Humboldt, comprised four-fifths of the Nevada Territory. Lake County was renamed Roop County on December 5, 1862 and then consolidated with Washoe County in 1889 because of its very small population. Two more counties, Lander and Nye, were organized when Nevada was a territory, so that the total number of counties in Nevada when it became a state was 11. In the first 10 years of statehood four more counties were organized: Elko (1869), Eureka (1873), Lincoln (1866), and White Pine (1869). More than three decades later, the last three counties were created, Clark (1909), Mineral (1911), and Pershing (1919). In 1969 Ormsby County and Carson City were consolidated into one municipal government known as Carson City.